OUR STORY

The adventure begins in 1903 when grandparents Marguerite and Joseph PIERRE decide to open a country café on the hill overlooking Sarrebourg: "Café Zur Waldlust". As well as the café, they also create a small lemonade factory, refreshment that was offered in front of the café.

Originally, the Flammekueche was placed in the dying flames of the wood-fired ovens of our farms in Alsace and Lorraine. Grandmother Marguerite followed this tradition and made Flammekueche for the enjoyment of all her family and friends, but also for the customers of the café that will be renamed "Le Café Belle Fontaine" in 1920.

In 1955, their son Paul and his wife Jacqueline take over the bistro and turn it into "Le Café Pierre". Avid animal lovers, they decide to create a little zoo next to the restaurant that will become "L’Auberge du Zoo" a couple of years later.

In offering his mother’s Flammekueche to restaurant guests, Paul PIERRE rapidly achieves a total success. He then expands the restaurant for the enjoyment of a clientele that grows in number every day.

In 1976, he passes the torch to his son Daniel who continues to create new Flammekueche recipes. Having completed Hotel and Catering studies in Strasbourg, he expands the bistro into an authentic restaurant of regional tradition.

And it is in 1985 that he and two friends come up with the idea to sell the Flammekueche on a larger scale: the company H.C.L. Maître Pierre was born.

After a first unit of production inaugurated in 1988, a second site measuring 3000 m² named "FLAMM'TOP" is built in 1998. The company produces around 70 000 tarts per day.

Today, the Flammekueche remains the flagship reference of our range expanded by succulent salty and sweet frozen tarts, produced in our workshop. The scrupulous selection of the best ingredients guarantees the incomparable quality of all our products.

Why frozen? It is easy to understand: the Flamm’ that we freeze remains more stable quality-wise than a fresh one. In fact, our crust is so thin (less than 1 mm thick) that if it was not frozen, the tart would absorb all water of the topping and would become soft.

The frozen Flamm' are sold in the largest distribution centers and home-service in France, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark and the United States.

Notre histoire

L'aventure commence en 1903 lorsque les grands-parents Marguerite et Joseph PIERRE décident d’ouvrir un café de campagne sur la colline surplombant Sarrebourg : le "Café Zur Waldlust". En plus du café, ils créent une petite fabrique de limonade, rafraîchissement qu'il propose à la vente devant le café.

A l'origine, la Flammekueche (le Flammekueche originellement) ou "Tarte Flambée" était mise à dorer dans les dernières flammes du four à pain de nos fermes d'Alsace et de Lorraine. La grand-mère Marguerite ne dérogea pas à cette règle et préparait de délicieuses Flammekueche qui régalaient toute la famille et les amis dans le caveau de la maison, mais également les clients du café qui deviendra en 1920 le "Café Belle Fontaine".

En 1955, leur fils Paul et son épouse Jacqueline reprennent le bistrot et en font le "Café Pierre". Passionnés d’animaux, ils décident de créer, à côté du restaurant, un petit zoo qui deviendra rapidement l’attraction régionale, et de renommer l’établissement "L’Auberge du Zoo".

Paul PIERRE, qui propose aux clients les Flammekueche de sa maman, obtient rapidement un franc succès et agrandit le restaurant pour le plaisir d’une clientèle de plus en plus nombreuse.

En 1976, son fils Daniel reprend le flambeau et continue à décliner de nouvelles recettes de Flammekueche. Ancien élève de l’école hôtelière de Strasbourg, il développe le bistrot en véritable restaurant de tradition régionale.

C'est en 1985 que lui et deux amis ont l'idée de commercialiser la Flammekueche à une plus grande échelle en créant la société H.C.L. Maître Pierre.

Après une première unité de production inaugurée en 1988, un second site de 3000 m² baptisé "FLAMM'TOP" est construit en 1998. L'entreprise fabrique environ 70 000 tartes par jour.

A ce jour, la Flammekueche demeure la référence phare de notre gamme élargie par de succulentes tartes salées et sucrées surgelées, élaborées dans notre atelier de production. La sélection scrupuleuse des meilleurs ingrédients reste la garantie de la qualité incomparable de tous nos produits.

Pourquoi en surgelé ? C'est très simple : la Flamm’ que l'on surgèle est plus stable dans le temps, qualitativement parlant, qu'un produits frais. En effet, notre pâte est si mince (environ 1mm d’épaisseur) que, si elle n’était pas surgelée, la tarte absorberait toute l'eau de la garniture et deviendrait molle très rapidement.

Les Flammekueche surgelées de Maître Pierre sont commercialisées dans les plus grandes enseignes de la distribution et du home-service en France, en Allemagne, en Suisse, au Danemark et aux Etats-Unis.